Month: July 2007

  • Good to be home

    Yes, we returned home from our trip to Dallas safe and sound.  Although the trip wasn’t all that I had expected it to be.  It definitely had its ups and downs…and unfortunately ended on the down side of things. 

    We drove through the night to get to Dallas leaving on Friday, June 29th.  It was very foggy once we entered the Texas state lines and remained that way for most of our travel through the state.  That made for a very slow moving drive for throughout most of the night…which I wasn’t anticipating.  It’s good that I had Dora w/ me though b/c Jason crashed pretty early on and stayed out for quite a while. 

    We arrived in Dallas around Noon on Saturday and were very happy to be there…but I was so tired by that point that I was wide awake.  We met up w/ friends and hung out until we were able to check in to our hotel room for the night.  We were supposed to just stay w/ my bf Eric and his wife, but he was called out of town for business and wasn’t to arrive back home until Sunday evening…so we got a room for the first night there.

    We wound up spending most of our time that week hanging out w/ Dora’s uncle and his family.  That was good though b/c we’ve been friends since high school and I’d missed hanging out w/ him.  However, I was disappointed that we weren’t able to spend more time w/ Eric while we were there.  He had to work a lot and other unforseen things occured while we were there that kept us from all being together.

    Anyway, my birthday wasn’t exactly what we’d all expected either.  Adrian (Dora’s uncle) and Eric planned this huge party for my birthday and it was to be at a new sports bar that Adrian had been doing electrical work for.  However, the day before my birthday all of the employees walked out on the management of that establishment and it was shut down.  So…there went the birthday plans.  Adrian was VERY upset about it all and to be honest…I was a bit disappointed, but it wasn’t anyone’s fault and obviously couldn’t be helped by any of us.  So we decided to just go out to dinner and celebrate that way.  However, Eric called right before we left for dinner and said that he couldn’t go…he had things he had to get done for his wife.  I was very upset about that…and still am.

    We all went w/o him though and had a very nice dinner and I did enjoy it…but still was hurt about my bf’s absense.  We hung the next evening w/ Eric though because his wife went out of town.  So we were able to hang out at the house and have fun.  There is a camcorder recording of that and it’s quite entertaining!

    I didn’t get many pictures while I was there b/c I had a hard time getting us all together at the same time to get photos. That just sucks.

    It rained almost the entire time we were there too.  Not just rain…but flooding!  Most of the area surrounding Dallas was flooded and it just rained non-stop with the exception of the last day that we were there.  Let’s just say that the mesquitos were out and I mean OUT all of the time.

    I did get all of us together our last night there for one meal together…but it didn’t last long.  Eric & his wife decided to go to a movie after that leaving Jason & I to spend out last night alone packing.  I again was VERY upset by this and spent most of my night crying while packing.  Eric screwed up…he knows that and he is still apologizing for it.  However at the time I was not even wanting to stay long enough to say goodbye.  I contemplated leaving that night while they were gone…but decided against it as I needed some sleep before driving back home.  Jason was NOT happy to say the least. 

    Anyway, we awoke the next morning around 4:30am and got ready to go.  I had rec’d a text message from Eric at around Midnight (after they got in from the movie) to call his cell phone to wake him up before we left.  So I did…but got no answer.  So I texted him and told him that we were leaving…and again, nothing.  I didn’t go knock on his door b/c I figured that if he purposely sent me a message asking me to wake him by calling that he didn’t want me waking up his wife by knocking on the door.  So…w/o being able to say goodbye…we left.

    Again, I was very upset by all of this especially after what had happened the night before.  I was in tears most of the way home.  Jason did his best to console me and support me…but I was just very emotional about it all.  I was hurt by my closest and oldest friend…and I felt betrayed a bit by him choosing to see a movie over spending time w/ me on my last night there…and then not saying goodbye, well…that didn’t help any.

    We’ve since talked and have worked things out for the most part…although I’m still not very happy with him.  He knows that he made some really poor choices and that he now has to make it up to me.  Jason still isn’t very happy with him though…but I don’t blame him.  It’s easier to forgive someone for hurting you, but when it comes to someone hurting the one you love most…well, that’s a different story.

    So there you have it…that was our trip.  Not a whole lot of good stuff to tell you all about I’m afraid.  Let’s just say that I’m not traveling to Dallas again anytime soon.