Month: May 2004

  • Important Update


    This update is to inform you that everyone in the O’Quinn household has become ill with the stomach flu and are unable to post anything of substance right now…hell, they are unable keep anything down of substance let alone function much.


    So…the WDW post will have to wait until we all recoupe.  Sorry…I hope you all have a good Memorial Day weekend.


    Will be back once I’m well.

  • Friday, May 14th


    We departed Denver around 11am MST and arrived into Orlando around 4:15pm EST.


    The flight went well and after we picked up our luggage we loaded the shuttle for the off airport car rental location.  We didn’t know it at the time, but the car rental was just down the street from Eric’s apartment.


    Once we arrived, we went up to the desk and spoke with the attendant only to find out that the vehicle that we were to be renting didn’t have a CD player in it.  Well, that wouldn’t due considering we were going to be driving a great deal over the next few days and needed some tunes!  So we asked how much it would be to upgrade to the next model…well to our surprise, because I was a member, the upgrade was free.  Cool eh?  Not only that, but we wound up paying about $20 less than the original stated amount for the smaller vehicle…hmmm.


    We left the car rental location around 5pm and followed the directions that we were given on how to get to the Florida Turnpike.  So we headed South and got onto the toll road that led to the turnpike…but the signs that were displayed for the turnpike were so small that missed our exit and had to find another way to get to it.  Well…after about an hour, we finally found a road that joined to the turnpike and we were on our way heading North to Georgia.  The final toll on the turnpike was $2.50 which I thought was a bit extravagant considering how poor the roadways were…but hey, if you want to get to where you are going…you have to pay.  So onward we went!


    We arrived into Adel, GA around 10pm or so (it may have been later…but I was too tired to pay attention).  After checking into the hotel, we headed back out to find a place to eat.  We decided on IHOP (International House of Pancakes) that was still open at that hour.  They were sorely understaffed at that location and at one point we feared that we might not get any service at all…but it all worked out okay.  With our hunger satisfied we traveled back over to the hotel only to find out that the key cards we were given didn’t work on the room that we were assigned to.  So Jason went up to the office and they programmed new cards…but those didn’t work either.  Finally, I went to the office and the desk clerk issued us new cards and a new room which happend to be next door to the one we were in originally.  The bad thing was…instead of the lovely King sized bed that we had requested, the new room has two double beds.  Ahhh yes, there’s nothing like sleeping in seperate beds when you’re on vacation eh?


    To be honest…we were both so tired that it didn’t really matter too much. 


    Saturday, May 15th


    I woke up fairly early…like around 6am or so.  For some reason, I can’t ever sleep in real late because I’m so used to getting up so early….darn it!


    We left the hotel and headed out towards Macon, GA.  We didn’t stop along the way…other than to get gas and some coffee.  We arrived into Atlanta around 1pm and went directly downtown to get some food and to World of Coca~Cola, otherwise known as WOCCA.  Jason still had certificates to get free admission inot WOCCA…but as it turned out, the person at the door was someone he knew and he told us to go right in, bypassing the ticket counter.


    I didn’t take too many photos while in WOCCA, don’t ask me why…but I didn’t.  I did atleast get a picture of this adorable bear!


     


     


     


     



    After visitng WOCCA, we drove over to Jason’s Mom’s and visited with she and his brother John.  We wound up going through old pictures of Jason as a baby and other family members most of the evening and into the night.  It was fun and we enjoyed spending some time with his Mom.


     


     


     



     


     


    I took this picture of Jason’s Mom while we there…she was kind enough to pose for me.


     


     


     


     


     


     


    Sunday, May 16th


    I called Eric in the morning as we headed out toward Savannah. Unfortunately, I woke he and Kippie up…oops.  Hey…how was I supposed to know that they’d still be sleeping at 10:30am eh?  Anyway, he said he’d call me back in a few hours…but it turned out to be more like that evening….men.


    Anyway, we drove through downtown Savannah on our way to Tybee Island.


    Now, I took a great deal of pictures while we were in this part of Georgia…so here are a few!!



    Oldest Church in Savannah



    Savannah Courthouse



    John Wesley Statue in Savannah



    US 80 sign – Jason loved this sign on Tybee Island where US 80 ended



    Beach at Tybee Island



    Tybee Lighthouse


     


    Next stop…Orlando, FL and Walt Disney World!!!

  • Back from WDW!!



    I don’t have much time to share everything with y’all right now…but I wanted to at least stop by and let you know that we are home again and that we had a wonderful time on our vacation!!


    I will give you many details and pics (hopefully tomorrow)…but for now…I’ll just leave you with the following picture of me with my favorite donkey!!



     

  •  My Disney World Vacation is tomorrow!


    Well…this is IT!!  I’ll see y’all on the 24th!!


    I’ll take a LOT of pics…I promise!!


    Take care m’dear Xangans.!!!


    It’s a small world after all…


    It’s a small world after all….


    sorry…couldn’t resist


  • Due to my laziness…I swiped this from Velvetglove

     

    LAYER ONE:

    – name: Maria Joy (Savastano) O’Quinn
    – birthplace:  Holland, Michigan
    – current Location: Centennial, Colorado

    LAYER TWO:

    – eye color: brown
    – hair color:  dark brown
    – height: 5’3″
    – righty or lefty: righty
    – zodiac sign:  Cancer
    – your heritage: 1/4 Sicilian, 1/4 Italian, 1/4 Dutch (the rest is French, Irish, English, Welch, & Scotch)
    – the shoes wore today: black strap sandals
    – your weakness: HOCKEY (more particular – Peter “Foppa” Forsberg)
    – your fears:  I don’t have any other than failing as a mom
    – your perfect pizza:  deep dish Chicago ….YUMMY
    – goal you’d like to achieve: go to Naples, Italy where my grandpa grew up

    LAYER THREE:

    – your most overused phrase on AIM: hmm…I don’t think I have one
    – your thoughts first waking up: Do I really have to get up at this hour?
    – your bedtime:  whenever I can get Caleb to sleep…I usually fall asleep with him
    – your most missed memory: I still have my memory…so I don’t miss it yet


    LAYER FOUR:

    – Pepsi or coke: Pepsi is a bad word in my house…considering Jason worked for The Coca ~ Cola Company
    – McDonald’s or burger king:  neither really…I like Subway best
    – single or group dates: depends on my mood…but usually the more the better
    – addidas or nike: New Balance is what I have now
    – lipton ice tea or nestea: Lipton
    – chocolate or vanilla: Chocolate
    – cappuccino or coffee: cappuccino

    LAYER FIVE:

    – smoke: I did…for over 13 years…but I’ve been smoke free for over 4 years now
    – cuss: umm…yeah (especially while watching sports)…but hey, I work in the construction industry
    – sing: all the time…it’s one of my passions
    – shower everyday: not always…usually every other day…but I do wash up everyday and wash my hair everyday (reminder…4 kids…2 bathrooms)
    – have a crush: only on my husband
    – want to go to college: yes…but not until we can afford it (one graduate at a time here)
    – like(d) high school: yeah…for the most part..
    – want to get married: only if I can marry the love of my life all over again
    – believe in yourself: absolutely
    – get motion sickness:  nope
    – think you’re attractive: I think that I could be a lot more attractive if I were the correct weight
    – think you’re a health freak: definitely not
    – get along with your parent(s): My Dad and I got along most of the time…but we definitely had our fair share of differences over the years.  My Mom…well, we’ve been better…but I’m still working on that one.
    – like thunderstorms: LOVE them
    – play an instrument:  just one? oh no…I play many!!  From saxophone to the guitar to the drums…to the clarinet. I love music!!

    LAYER SIX:

    in the past month…
    – drank alcohol: yes, I had a beer last night….and I plan on having a lot more drinks on vacation next week!
    – smoked: nope
    – done a drug: nope
    – had sex: yes…but not as often as I’d liked too  (remember…once again, 4 kids = no privacy)
    – made out: yes
    – gone on a date: yes, we went to the baseball game
    – gone to the mall?: nope
    – eaten an entire box of oreos: nope
    – been on stage: now that’s been a while…
    – been dumped: nope 
    – gone skating: not yet
    – made homemade cookies: not since Valentine’s Day
    – gone skinny dipping: not in YEARS
    – dyed your hair: hmm…it’s been a few months and I only highlight it thank you
    – stolen anything: no way

    LAYER SEVEN:

    Have you ever…
    – played a game that required removal of clothing: hell yeah!!
    – if so, was it mixed company: yes
    – been trashed or extremely intoxicated: absolutely

    – been caught “doing something”:  well yeah…like I said…NO PRIVACY
    – been called a tease: never

    LAYER EIGHT:

    – age you hope to be married: I’m already there!!! Good thing I finally found the right guy huh?
    – numbers and names of children: I originally only planned on two children…but I wound up with four (hey God has a sense of humor too)

    – describe your dream wedding:  Had it last October in Vegas baby…and it was incredible!!!

    – how do you want to die:  hopefully when I’m done living
    – where you want to go to college: I wanted to go to the University of Michigan…but that didn’t happen…now, I’m not that picky!
    – what do you want to be when you grow up:  I refuse to grow up!
    – what country would you most like to visit:  Italy


    LAYER NINE:

    in a boy.
    – best eye color?  Green
    – best hair color? light brown…or dark brown
    – short or long hair: on Jason…definitely short
    – height: over 6′
    – best articles of clothing:  mmm…boxers
    – best first date location: Well…ours was in Atlanta…and it was perfect!! We went to the laser show at Stone Mountain

    – best first kiss location: First kiss? the lips…the second kiss may include other body parts!

    LAYER TEN:

    # of drugs taken illegally: 2 I think
    # of people i could trust with my life: 4
    # of CDs that i own: a lot…I have know idea how many though
    # of piercings: 4  – two in both ears
    # of tattoos: 0.  2 – one of a unicorn with my oldest daughter’s name on my left thigh…and the other of a heart with my initials on my tummy
    # of scars on my body: umm…I’ve never counted them all…but a few
    #of things in my past that i regret: I don’t have an answer for this…

    Last Person Who…

    – Slept in your bed? My husband, my son (Caleb) and myself
    – Saw you cry ? my daughters

    – Made you cry ?  a television show we were watching
    – Spent the night at your house?  hmm…I think it was my daughter’s best friend
    – You shared a drink with? my husband…last night
    – You went to the movies with? umm…my son Jonah…we saw Scooby Doo 2
    – You went to the mall with? my Mom I think

    – Yelled at you? My Mom
    – Sent you an email?  My best friend…Eric

    Have Your Ever…

    – Said “I love you”? Every day

    – Been to New York? Nope
    – Been to Georgia? Yup…and I’ll be there again this Saturday!!

    – California? Nope
    – Hawaii? Nope (this is getting depressing)
    – Mexico? Nope
    – China? Nope

    – Canada? Yes…I grew up in Michigan…heck, we’re almost Canadians eh?!!
    – Danced naked ? Sure…hasn’t everyone?
    – Dreamed something really crazy and then happened the next day? Yes…many times
    – Stalked someone? Never


    Pick One…

    – Apples or bananas? Apples!
    – Red or blue? Definitely BLUE (my favorite color)
    – Walmart or Kmart? hmm…I’m not particular on that one…I’ve shopped at both!
    – Math or English? English
    – radio or CD? CD
    – drawing or painting? Drawing (pastels & charcoals)

    – High school or college? High School…since I’ve not attended college as of yet


    The Last Few Questions… (thank god)

    – Last time you went out of the state? October 2003 to Vegas for my wedding!!
    – Lucky number? 21

    – Things you like in a guy? Honesty, sincerity, charm, intelligence, and integrity

    – Do you have a boyfriend? umm…no, but do you think Jason would mind?  j/k

    – What do you think of Ouija board?  I think that anyone who knows anything about them or has any knowledge of demonology would know that they are not toys.  (personal experience)

    – What book are you reading now? South Beach Diet

    – What’s on your mouse pad?  I don’t have one (I have a roller ball mouse)
    – Favorite board game? Monopoly

    – Favorite magazines?  Don’t read many magazines…
    – Favorite sound? Caleb’s laughter

    – Worst feeling in the world?  Finding out your child is autistic
    – Do you like scary or exciting roller coasters? LOVE them!!!!  And plan on riding many next week at Disney World!!!

    – How many rings before you answer? Usually 2…just enough to see who it is on the caller ID
    – Do you sleep with a stuffed animal? Of course…the eeyore that Jason bought me…well, that is when Caleb isn’t thieving him from me
    – If you could have any job you wanted, what would it be? sports medicine
    – What are you going to do after you finish this survey?  Get back to work? well…maybe  

    – What was the last food you ate?  Almonds

    Hopefully I’ll get around to visiting you all today…I hope.  Happy Hump Day!!!

  • So Much To Do…So Little Time


    Well, I did a great deal of laundry last night…but I don’t feel as if I accomplished much…darn it!


    Hmm…maybe it’s just because I have so much to get done between now and Friday morning when we leave for Orlando.  Jason has two assignments to complete before tomorrow and a final to take.  Hopefully by Thursday evening both of us will be done with all of our other obligations so that we can pack.  I’m one of those people who likes to start packing a couple days ahead of time, but I don’t know if that will happen for this trip.  I’m also one who packs quickly, so I’m not too worried about it.


    Anyway, I’m feeling better than I was on Sunday…thanks for all the get well wishes.  


    Not too much more to tell ya right now…except that I appreciate all of the feedback I’ve received from all of you on Xanga in regards to my son Caleb and Autism.  A lot of Xangans have really opened their hearts up to me about personal experiences with Autism and I think that’s wonderful.  As a Mom of an autistic child it’s nice to have support and just a few words from others who deal with autistic children as well.  So thank you, from the bottom of my heart…thank you.

  • From Good…to Bad


    Saturday was fun…but yesterday left something to be desired. Unfortunately I was in bed all day yesterday with some sort of stomach virus.  It started late Saturday night and lasted all day yesterday.  Not exactly feeling back to normal today, but better than I did at least.


    Anyway, my girls still spent the day with me…and even my Mom, as we watched movies in my bedroom most of the day.  I didn’t eat much of anything all day yesterday…not a recommended diet plan btw.


    I’ll go home tonight…do some laundry…and then start packing for the trip that’s just 4 days away.    I can’t wait!! I should be feeling much better by then.


    I hope that all you Mommys had a wonderful Mother’s Day!!

  • Time Well Spent


    I’m sure that I won’t have much time on the computer tomorrow…so I wanted to stop in today and wish all of the mothers here on Xanga a



    I took the girls up to meet Jason last night as he was getting off work.  I got to pick out a gift for Mother’s Day from the girls…it was fun!  We wondered around the store and looked at fun stuff…cds and dvds as well.  I finally decided on a cd and then Jason took me over to get my gift from him…a cool new blue Dodge Ram remote control truck!!! Woohooo!!!  I’ve always wanted one of those!!  I know…you’re probably thinking that I’m nuts…but hey, my biggest concern about that gift isn’t that it’s meant for kids the ages 5 and up…which means that I have to hide it from the boys if I don’t want it destroyed!!


    I’m just reverting back to younger years…no reason to be alarmed. I’ll be acting even more like a kid this time next week!!


    Anyway, after picking out my gifts…we went out to dinner.  That was nice…it was a very nice evening.   See, the reason we did it last night was because Jason had to work today and will have to work tomorrow as well…plus he has a lot of school work to do when he is home.   So, we celebrated last night…which was just fine by me.


    I’ve been hanging out with the girls today just having a blast!! We rented The Rundown (with The Rock) on pay per view…and sat and munched on popcorn!  We’ve played games and such as well…it’s been nice to have time with my girls!!


    Well…it’s time for me to go rustle up some dinner for the two…have a great weekend y’all!!!!

  • Spring Cleaning…of sorts


    I did do something productive last night after I got home from work…well, besides making dinner that is.  I went through my clothes and bagged up 90% of them to give away.  I bagged up five big garbage bags full of clothes!! 5 BAGS!  That’s a lot of clothes y’all!!


    I didn’t even realize that I had that many to be honest.  I’ve been meaning to go through them for quite sometime now…but haven’t really had the gumption or the time.  Most of the clothes were ones that my Mom had bought for me that I’ve never even worn…they even had the tags still dangling from them.  We just do not have the same taste in clothes whatsoever.


    That…and she usually buys me way too many sets of one item.  Here’s an example, last Christmas…she bought two new robes (I rarely ever wear robes btw).  She’d bought me two other robes just months prior to that.  So now I have four brand new robes…none of which that I would’ve picked out for myself to wear mind you.  I know it was the thought that counts…and I appreciated her thinking of me, I always do.  However, when I asked her why she thought it was necessary for me to have four heavy robes…she got upset with me.  Hey, I was just curious.


    So I’ve learned not to ask her questions like that anymore.  She’s one that gets very offended if you return or exchange any of her gifts…so that was out of the question.  Although Jason wound up doing it with most of the gifts he’d received from her anyway.  We both have a “buy no clothing” for us rule for her…but she doesn’t listen very well. 


    I’ve even told her what to buy…but she purchases what she likes for us instead.  Sometimes, you just can’t win in certain situations I suppose.


    Anyway, back to my story (sorry…I got off track).


    So I bagged up all of these clothes…and this morning they were taken over to the school that the twins attend.  There are a lot of families there that don’t have much in the way of clothing and such…so the ladies that went through my clothes were quite pleased to have them!  It makes me happy to know that someone else can use what I can’t anymore.


    I’m not a materialistic person by any means…I’m one of those, “if I’m not using it…then give it to someone who can” type of people.  It brings me great joy to know that I can give something back to others ya know?


    Well…back to work for me! I just though that I’d share that with you all.


    Oh…by the way, if you want to laugh at something…go to Jason’s site and read his current post.  There’s an interesting photo there of yours truly and a couple other Xangans that some of you are familiar with.


    OK…now I need to go!
















  •  
    The work week seems like
    it takes forever to end!
     





    Time seems to go slower










     
    but the work just keeps piling up.
     





    But there is still hope left!
    Think of it this way:







     
    is gone.







     
    will be over before you know it!







     
    And the weekend is just a
    hop, skip, and a jump away!














     
    You’ll be over the hump in no time!
     
    So hang in there…
    and Have A Happy Hump Day!

    I spent yesterday working mostly on our phone system at work.  See, I do the recordings for our main greeting and submenus for the phones…and our IT guy (or geekboy as I lovingly refer to him as) decided to make some changes and had asked me if it would be okay if he made the recordings from now on…and I said “knock yourself out”.   Hey…it’s one less thing for me to do right?


    So yesterday morning when I called in to check my messages it was geekboy’s voice on the system…he sounded like a radio announcer!  I didn’t really care…it was alright and kind of entertaining…but about an hour later, I had the president of the company in my office begging me to put my voice back on the system!  Now, the president isn’t one to normally poke fun at people…but even he couldn’t resist giving his best impersonation of geekboy’s performance on the message…it was beyond funny!  It’s a good thing that geekboy has a wonderful sense of humor…so to get the president back, he and I decided to email him our version of the new main greeting…which just happen to be geekboy on helium! 


    Now…we haven’t heard back from him yet…so we don’t know if we’ll be coming in to work tomorrow or not…but only time will tell eh?  Hey…sometimes you’ve just got to laugh a little.