Month: February 2005

  • I’m back…& I have photos!!


    I’ll post more pics as soon as I upload them from my camera.   But here are some to hold you over until then.


      


    These are pics that I was given…isn’t she just precious! These were taken at JC Penney’s photo studio.



    There we are…just me and Baylie!  See how attentive she was being?



    Here she is just chillin’ out on the couch after shopping with Kippie & me all day long at Downtown Disney.



    Here’s Baylie with her canine companion…Trent!



    And of course we had to buy Baylie a Valentine’s gift too now didn’t we?  And nothing says I love you more than Eeyore!!!

  • Greetings from Orlando!


    At the moment I’m attempting to type this one handed as I currently have a baby in my arms drinking her bottle that I’m trying to hold with my chin.   Oh wait…time to burp…brb


    Okay…now where was I? Oh yeah…trying to post. Yuppers…baby Baylie and I are getting along famously.  I’m currently watching her while her parents are out for their Valentine dinner.  Eric has to work late tomorrow so…they are celebrating tonight instead.


    Anyway…I went to Universal Studios yesterday with Eric and we had a blast!! It was great. I don’t have a lot of pictures from there…but I definitely had a good time.  I’m supposed to go to MGM Studios tomorrow…if I can…if not then on Tuesday. I’m looking forward to that as well.


    I have taken some pictures of Baylie and such…and have done some shopping for my kiddos.  I’ll get Jason‘s gifts while at Disney World.


    And since I won’t have another chance to post before I leave here…and tomorrow IS Valentine’s Day…I’d like to dedicate this next message to MY one and only Valentine.  



    I miss you baby…and I will see you soon!!

  • All packed and ready to go…


    Can you believe that it’s flippin’ snowing here today??  Geeze…that just makes me even more ready for this:



    Yuppers…I’m ready to go!  I’m pretty much packed…you know, except for the essentials that can’t be packed until last minute.   Other than that though…I’m ready to go.


    Well…I’ve got some work to do before I get out of here today…so I should get back to it.  I’ll try to post at least once while I’m gone…but I can’t promise anything. If not, I’ll have Jason update for me.


    I’ll take lots of pictures while I’m gone…I promise!   Be good and I’ll see you next week!!

  • Well…I watched Without a Trace last night after CSI.  Of course it made me cry…but then again, it seems that the older I get…the more I cry over things that never did before…so it doesn’t surprise me.  I thought that the show was good…it could have been better though…from a autistic parent point of view…but it wasn’t bad.  I liked the fact that they had a public service announcement with the actors that played the parents on the show (who actually are parents of an autistic child) and their son promoting autism awareness…that was good to see.


    So…this weekend I start packing for my trip to Orlando.  I checked the weather forecast and it says that it will be mostly in the low to mid 70′s while I’m there…that works for me!  I think that I’ll be taking a couple of warm items with me though…just in case, considering that it’s 49° there today.   All in all though, I’m pretty ready for this trip. 


    I went out and purchased a few items to take with me on the trip…lavender candles, milk bath, and some bath crystals…for some nice relaxing. I think that I’m just looking forward to some “me time”.


    So, any big plans for Super Bowl Sunday??  Not much going on at our house.  Caleb was supposed to go to his dad’s this weekend but a friend of my ex’s was killed while serving in Iraq…so he and his new girlfriend are in Iowa for the funeral.  Sad.  So…with Caleb being home…I’m sure that there will be pizza in our menu for football on Sunday…and if I have it my way, there will be some good beer to go with that pizza!


     

  • Without a Trace

    Without A Trace


    Thursday, February 3, 10PM ET/PT


    “Volcano”


    The team searches for a 12-year-old autistic boy who vanishes during a school field trip to a Manhattan museum after dashing away from the group.


     









    CBS’s Emmy-nominated Without A Trace
    Features Autism Storyline


    This Thursday, February 3 at 10PM ET/PT, CBS’s Without A Trace, a drama series about the New York Missing Persons Squad of the FBI, will feature a storyline about a 12-year-old boy with autism who vanishes during a school field trip after he dashes away from the group.


    According to the actors who play the parents of the boy, Christine Tucci and Vincent Angell, the role served as one of the most important roles in their lives.  Tucci and Angell are really married and the parents of a 3-year-old boy with autism. They applaud the writer of the episode for the accuracy of their portrayal.


    ASA spoke with writer Greg Walker about his motivation behind the storyline:  “I had written about autism before and had been exposed to the disorder anecdotally.  I used to work with two other writers that were parents of individuals on the spectrum and would hear about autism’s effect on their lives.  So through my exposure to those writers who were living with the experience, I witnessed the emotional roller coaster parents go through,” he said.  “I allowed myself zero tolerance for any mistakes on this episode and was very concerned about the viewer’s perception.  Also, the actors cared very much about their role and felt it was hugely important to fully understand autism spectrum disorders,” he added.


    In addition to safety issues, the episode also highlights siblings, which the writer purposely included.  Walker went on to say: “I wanted the episode to show the amount of respect and care the issue of raising a child on the autism spectrum deserves. And because I enjoy stories that involve siblings, I decided to tie in a sibling story–one who was diagnosed with autism–another who is typical.”


    The episode, “Volcano,” will also feature a taped PSA encouraging parents to seek out early diagnosis and intervention, and ASA’s Web site for further support.


    ASA commends Warner Brothers and the CBS network for bringing attention to autism spectrum disorders; moreover, for highlighting safety issues. In addition, ASA offers a special thanks to writer Greg Walker; Dennis Madalone, stunt director and committed friend of ASA and the cause of autism; and actors Anthony LaPaglia; Poppy Montgomery; Marianne Jean-Baptiste; Enrique Murciano; Eric Close; Christine Tucci and Vincent Angell.


    A product of Project Lifesaver, a non-profit organization made up of Sheriffs, City Police, Search and Rescue Teams and other public safety organizations that electronically locate people who wander, is featured in this week’s episode of Without A Trace.