Month: May 2005

  • Post Follow-up Update


    Anyway…so yeah, Friday morning sucked royally…  It didn’t get much better in the afternoon either.  I went to the doctor for my followup visit.  Although the lump in my breast turned out to be nothing (thank God)…they did have some bad news for me in another form.  I’m borderline diabetic.  My insulin levels are SO out of wack!!


    So they’ve put me on medication to try to help that regulate…and in the meantime I have to go back in for bloodwork in six weeks and return for another followup in 6 months.


    I’ve had a feeling that something wasn’t right with me for a while now…and even had stated that I bet my insulin wasn’t right…so I wasn’t totally shocked with this news.  However, it didn’t make it any easier to hear.  The fortunate thing is that it’s correctable…since it was caught before becoming full blown diabeties.


    Well…that’s the update.


     


    Please remember…anyone wanting to know where I will be primarily blogging from now on…email me. Thanks to all of those who have already done so…I don’t want to lose touch with any of you.


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


    “Autism Is A World”


    May 22nd – 8pm (EST) on CNN



    Autism is a World premieres on CNN Presents Sunday, May 22nd at 8pm ET


    Oscar®-Nominated Film Makes TV Debut


    State of the Art Inc. & CNN Productions Present “Autism Is A World” a 40 minute documentary produced and directed by Gerardine Wurzburg, Academy Award winner for Educating Peter, and narrated by actress Julianna
    Margulies (E.R. and The Grid).


    The documentary is about Sue who is autistic. She was diagnosed and treated as mentally retarded until the age of 13 when she began to communicate using a keyboard. When you meet her, she does not make eye contact. She obsessively attacks your buttons, endlessly stands at the
    faucet and watches water pour over her hand. You would not approach this person. But the documentary takes the viewer on a journey into her mind, into her world and her obsessions. Autism Is A World explores Sue’s world, her writings, and the remarkable friendships she has
    created while in college.


    Lensed in and around Whittier, CA where Sue makes her home, Autism Is A World was produced by State of the Art, Inc. and Producer/Director Gerardine Wurzburg, Co-Producer Douglas Biklen, Associate Producer Elissa Ewalt, Supervising Producer Jennifer Hyde, Executive Director Jody Gottlieb, Managing Editor Kathy Slobogin and Executive Producer Sid Bedingfield.


    Special Thanks to the Nancy Lurie Marks Family Foundation.

  • Just a note to let you all know what happened at the ultrasound yesterday.  The radiologist said that as far as he can tell everything “looks normal…BUT, that if something is wrong the bloodwork will show it”.  So…I guess I have to wait until Friday to find out any more information.


    You KNOW how much I just love waiting.


    To all you mommy’s…I hope that you had a nice Mother’s Day!  Sorry I didn’t post, but Xanga is getting on my nerves as of late. 


    Not the people that I know on here and post on here…but the technology (or lack there of I should say)…it’s ticking me off.  I mean, I’ve paid for my premium (well, Jason did) and I can’t even use it to it’s full potential.


    SO…I may not be posting here very often anymore.  It makes me sad to say that…I’ve made so many friends here, but I’m so fed up with everything going wrong here.


    I hope that you all understand.


    If you want to know where I will be blogging…please email me and I will let you know.


    I will post an update of what the results are from my doctor’s appointment…I wouldn’t leave you all hangin’.  Really.


  • The 5th of May is not Mexican Independence Day, but it should be!  And Cinco de Mayo is not an American holiday, but it should be.  Mexico declared its independence from mother Spain on midnight, the 15th of September, 1810.  And it took 11 years before the first Spanish soldiers were told and forced to leave Mexico.


    So, why Cinco de Mayo?  And why should Americans savor this day as well?  Because 4,000 Mexican soldiers smashed the French and traitor Mexican army of 8,000 at Puebla, Mexico, 100 miles east of Mexico City on the morning of May 5, 1862.


    The French had landed in Mexico (along with Spanish and English troops) five months earlier on the pretext of collecting Mexican debts from the newly elected government of democratic President (and Indian) Benito Juarez.  The English and Spanish quickly made deals and left.  The French, however, had different ideas.


    Under Emperor Napoleon III, who detested the United States, the French came to stay.  They brought a Hapsburg prince with them to rule the new Mexican empire.  His name was Maximilian; his wife, Carolota.  Napoleon’s French Army had not been defeated in 50 years, and it invaded Mexico with the finest modern equipment and with a newly reconstituted Foreign Legion.  The French were not afraid of anyone, especially since the United States was embroiled in its own Civil War.


    The French Army left the port of Vera Cruz to attack Mexico City to the west, as the French assumed that the Mexicans would give up should their capital fall to the enemy — as European countries traditionally did.


    Under the command of Texas-born General Zaragosa, (and the cavalry under the command of Colonel Porfirio Diaz, later to be Mexico’s president and dictator), the Mexicans awaited.  Brightly dressed French Dragoons led the enemy columns.  The Mexican Army was less stylish.


    General Zaragosa ordered Colonel Diaz to take his cavalry, the best in the world, out to the French flanks.  In response, the French did a most stupid thing; they sent their cavalry off to chase Diaz and his men, who proceeded to butcher them.  The remaining French infantrymen charged the Mexican defenders through sloppy mud from a thunderstorm and through hundreds of head of stampeding cattle stirred up by Indians armed only with machetes.


    When the battle was over, many French were killed or wounded and their cavalry was being chased by Diaz’ superb horsemen miles away.  The Mexicans had won a great victory that kept Napoleon III from supplying the confederate rebels for another year, allowing the United States to build the greatest army the world had ever seen.  This grand army smashed the Confederates at Gettysburg just 14 months after the battle of Puebla, essentially ending the Civil War.


    Union forces were then rushed to the Texas/Mexican border under General Phil Sheridan, who made sure that the Mexicans got all the weapons and ammunition they needed to expel the French.  American soldiers were discharged with their uniforms and rifles if they promised to join the Mexican Army to fight the French.  The American Legion of Honor marched in the Victory Parade in Mexico, City.


    It might be a historical stretch to credit the survival of the United States to those brave 4,000 Mexicans who faced an army twice as large in 1862.  But who knows?


    In gratitude, thousands of Mexicans crossed the border after Pearl Harbor to join the U.S. Armed Forces.  As recently as the Persian Gulf War, Mexicans flooded American consulates with phone calls, trying to join up and fight another war for America.


    Mexicans, you see, never forget who their friends are, and neither do Americans.  That’s why Cinco de Mayo is such a party — A party that celebrates freedom and liberty.  There are two ideals which Mexicans and Americans have fought shoulder to shoulder to protect, ever since the 5th of May, 1862.  VIVA! el CINCO DE MAYO!!


    above information courtesy of this site


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


    So…after a long day yesterday, I came home very tired and laid down for a bi…trying to rest.  I even popped in my new DVD that Jason bought me.  About half way through it…the phone rings.  I look at the caller ID and it’s a pay phone number…so I’m thinking “who in the hell?”. 


    I answer, “hello?”


    ….it’s Jason, “Hi honey.  I need you to come get me.”


    me: “Why? What happened? And why are you calling from a pay phone?”


    him: “Nothing…I just need you to come get me…and I couldn’t use my cell phone.”


    me: “What…did you lock your keys in the car or something?”


    him: “Umm…actually? Yes…in the trunk.”


    me: “How do you lock your keys in the trunk?”


    him: “Well…I don’t normally put my book bag in the trunk, but I did…and well, my keys were in there…”


    me: “I see…so you need me to bring you your spare key?”


    him: “yes…please”


     


    The conversation is edited a bit…but that’s the gist of the whole thing.   But regardless…I had to get out of my comfy bed and go give my hubby his key to his car.  My tummy was hurting SO bad by this point…but I went anyway.  I didn’t want him to have to take a bus and then walk home…especially if it wasn’t necessary.


    So…after coming back from my little rescue mission…we arrived just in time to see Scott Savol get kicked off of American Idol (it’s about time!!!).  I don’t think my ears could take one more week of him…besides, he should’ve been gone weeks ago.  Just my opinion.


    After that… it was back to bed and back to my movie!  I watched the special features…but fell asleep…so I shut it off and passed out for the night.


    Exciting eh? Yeah well…that’s my life.

  • The past 24 hours has been a bit rough on me…I admit it.  Yesterday I went in for my annual with my gynecologist.  Yeah…being a woman is so much fun.  Anyway…I wasn’t looking forward to that to begin with…but I had no idea what I was in for.


    I’ve gained weight again.   And …as if that wasn’t enough…they found a lump in my breast too.  It’s not big…but it’s painful.  I thought I felt it when I did my self exam last month and was going to ask about it at my appointment…but I didn’t need to because she found it rather quickly.


    So, now I’m going in for an ultrasound to see what it is next Tuesday.  Hopefully it will give us some answers so at least I know what I’m dealing with.  I hate not knowing.  


    I went into the lab this morning and had 7 vials of blood drawn for testing.  They ordered “everything under the sun” according to the lab technician.  Well…at least I know that they are actually trying to find out what’s wrong with me.  My doctor feels that the weight gain may be due to more than just my hypothyroidism.  Hence why all the tests were ordered.


    So now…I wait.


    Did I mention that I hate not knowing?


    All of that being said…my youngest daughter Corin is sick.  I awoke at about 4am this morning to the news that she was ill…all the signs of the stomach flu.   So…I’ve been up since then and dealt with my poor little girl as she cried because her tummy hurt so bad.  I called and checked in on her not too long ago…at least she’s finally stopped vomiting.


    Watch…I’ll get that next…I always do.  Especially when I haven’t gotten enough rest.


    Oh well…as my dear friend Eeyore would say.  All part of being “Mommy” I suppose.


    Speaking of “Mommy”…Mother’s Day is this Sunday.  My wonderful hubby bought me an early Mother’s Day gift…the special edition of The Phantom of the Opera!!   So at least I can watch that tonight and take my mind off things a bit before I pass out from exhaustion right?

  • Ugh…


    …I don’t want to work today


    …I’m tired


    …I have to go to the doctor for my annual visit in about an hour


    …they will bitch at me about my weight…yet again


    …they’ll advise me on more weight loss programs…yet…again (as if I haven’t already tried them all)


    …they’ll run more blood tests…yet…again


    …they’ll determine that my hypothyroidism is the cause of my weight problems…yet….again


    Ever feel like you’re stuck in that movie “Groundhog Day”?

  • Monday Ramblings…


    It’s been snowing here for the past week …on and off, but it’s much colder than normal for this time of year.  Normally March is our snowiest month in the Rockies…but April has been this year.  Now it’s the 2nd of May and it’s a whole high of 48° F here today.   Depressing eh? 


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


    So anyway… last Friday Jason and I attended his Initiation Ceremony into Kappa Delta Pi – the international honor society in education at (to correct my last post) Metro State College of Denver.  I’m very proud of my hubby to be accepted into this honor society.  


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


    Well…because it snowed this last weekend and was cold outside…we spent a lot of time inside, I wound up watching a bit of television on Saturday and found myself watching the Food Network.  They have some really cool shows on there I tell you!!  Now, anyone who knows me knows that I love to cook…especially new recipes.  So while watching this with my daughters, we came up with some ideas for dinner yesterday.  I made some new recipes…broccoli and bow tie pasta in a lemon/garlic sauce (yummy), which we wound up having for lunch yesterday afternoon…and homemade chicken parmesan and fried mozzarella sticks with homemade marinara sauce (double yummy).  The mozzarella sticks – the first batch didn’t turn out the way I had intended…however, the taste was phenomenal…they were a bit over cooked and melted. Oops.   But they got better as I went along.   The chicken parmesan (which Dora helped me make) was awesome!! Absolutely wonderful!  I made a nice tomato/basil salad with it and it was just lovely.


    Of course, now I’m looking for more new recipes on old favorites that we love so much.  I do this from time to time…not only to give us a new spin on menu choices, but to also see what else I can get Caleb to eat since he’s the finicky one in the family.


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


    Let’s see…as you all know I am a woman who wears many hats in my household (i.e. chef, doctor, hair dresser, stylist, pet groomer, maid, laundry service, dishwasher, babysitter, referee, translator…etc.).  Well, this past weekend I was mainly pet groomer and chef.  As my hubby was so kind to point out, I didn’t get the VCR repaired (oh forgot to mention I’m also the repair-person).  Hmm…well…I was damn tired yesterday after grooming Ginger (my cocker/springer/english spaniel mix) since that took me several hours to finish.  And after I cooked dinner, from scratch…which was also a bit time consuming and doing the dishes and baking a batch of peanut butter/chocolate chip cookies, after which I cleaned up my mess as well….I was pretty much done for the night!  


    So I’m sorry honey, I didn’t get the VCR fixed yesterday…but you know what?  I also didn’t get the laundry done or the puppy bathed…so I guess you can fire me if ya want.   He wouldn’t do that…’cuz that would mean he’d have to do it all…and well…that’s just not happening!   He helps…but he’s got way too much on his plate to take on all of that on top of everything else.   But I’m not complaining…really!


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


    One other thing…what in the HELL is going on with my pictures here on Xanga!?  Everytime I turn around…pics that I’ve had save on my Xanga for like forever…are all of a sudden GONE!!!   Now…some of my pics that I posted from the trip…they are listed on my pictures database…but that are not showing up!!  What the HELL Xanga? I want my pics back!!


    Okay…I’m done babbling now.  Have a great day!!