Month: March 2006

  • The Journey Continues…

    Well, I went into the hospital for the “sleep study” last Saturday night.  However, I didn’t sleep much at all to be honest.  I woke up numerous times throughout the night.  It couldn’t have had anything to do with the fact that I had over 22 wires hooked up to me and a video camera on me at all times could it? Nah…I didn’t think so.


    The technician who observed me told me that I do have sleep apnea…but a mild form of it.  He said that in R.I.M. sleep (the deepest stage of sleep) that I stopped breathing about 12 times…but it wasn’t long enough to fall under the guidelines (more than 10 seconds) to put the C.P.A.P. (Continuous Positive Airway Pressure) machine on me.  He said that my case will have to be evaluated by my primary physician and he will have to decide whether or not I will need to be fitted with a C.P.A.P. machine.


    I was very tired Sunday morning when I was released at 6:15am and luckily was able to nap a bit throughout the day.  Although, I don’t think that my body has caught up with the rest that I’ve lost because I’ve been exhausted since.


    I also spoke with my insurance company again yesterday to request the “criteria” for which a patient must be meet in order to qualify for gastric bypass surgery.  My doctor asked me to get him the forms from the insurance so that he has a written document as to what he needs to submit to them.  So I faxed it to him yesterday.  I got a call from his office yesterday as well, telling me that the blood test that he’d ordered to check for anemia came back normal…that’s good.


    I have to go back in to see him in a couple of weeks…he’ll discuss the sleep apnea results with me then.  I’m hoping that things will at least be going in the right direction by this point.  Even though I’ve only been diagnosed with a mild case of sleep apnea, the fact that I do have it means that I now meet the criteria for the surgery considering sleep apnea and hypothyroidism both are listed as obesity onset co-morbidities and the insurance requires that a patient must have at least two co-morbidities in order to qualify for surgery.


    I think that the next step will be for me to meet with the surgeon for a consultation and then go through his requirements of meeting with a dietician (nutritional class), psych evaluation and lab work.


    We’ll see…I’m still a bit weary considering how wishy-washy insurance can be about approving these things.  So I’ll believe it when my surgery date has been set and I know for a fact that I’ve been approved.

  • Sorry it’s been SO long…

    Hello everyone!


    I know, I know…it’s been over a month since my last post.  I’ll say a couple of “Hail Mary’s” and get it over with.


    Anyway, since I last posted Jason and I went to Las Vegas for a friend’s wedding.  The unfortunate thing is that Jason was sick most of the time.   However, we still managed to enjoy ourselves (of course).   I’ll post some pics just as soon as I get a chance!


    Let’s see…I went to the doctor on Monday and he’s sending me into the hospital for an overnight lab study this Saturday night.  He’s having me tested for sleep apnea.  He stated that if I do have this it’s just one more item to back us up on our plea for the gastric bypass surgery.  I was hoping that I would be approved for the surgery by now, but things never work out quite the way we plan now do they?


    Jason has been wonderful about it all and very supportive even when I’ve run out of hope he’s picked me back up again and helped me see the light.  What a good husband huh?  Yeah…well you’ll have to get your own because he’s taken.


    Anyway…I have to get back to work now, but I shall not be such a stranger.  I promise!