Month: October 2006

  • Estes Park Trip

    Well…we made it!  Yesterday was Jason & my 3rd wedding anniversary!

    We went to a beautiful city here in Colorado…Estes Park!

    Jason Estes Park 10-06 Ria Estes Park 10-06

    We did a great deal of shopping in downtown Estes (where the photos above were taken).  I’m sure we spent entirely too much money…but we had a blast doing it!!

    I have a ton more photos to show you!  First off…the photos from the infamous Stanley Hotel where Stephen King wrote his famous book “The Shining” and later refilmed the made for t.v. version of the story in 1996 (I was staying at the Stanley Hotel when they were filming that movie…hehe).

    Jason and I went on a cool tour at The Stanley Hotel on Saturday evening.  It was part historical and part ghost tour!  It was a lot of fun and I got some incredible photos!  I even got some pics of orbs and such.

    rainy Stanley Hotel 10-8-06

    The Stanley Hotel – Jason took this as we were pulling up to the hotel on Sunday morning

     

    Jason & Ria Stanley Hotel 10-7-06

    Jason & me in front of The Stanley Hotel – Estes Park, CO

     

    Stanley Steamer 1906  10-06

    the 1906 model of the Stanley Steamer w/ a pic of Mr. F.O. Stanley himself – foyer of The Stanley Hotel (2 orbs on left side of photo)

     

    main staircase Stanley Hotel 10-06

    the main staircase (2 orbs in this photo – one top left and the other along the stairway on the right)

     

    main stairwell Stanley 10-06

    the main stairwell from the 2nd floor (6 orbs in this photo all on the top left of the pic)

     

    5 orbs circled 2nd flr Stanley 10-06

    2nd floor hallway – I captured 5 orbs in this pic (I’ve circled them so you can see them better)

     

    Rm 217 Stanley 10-06

    the infamous Room 217  – not only was this room important in the book “The Shining” (best known as the room the old lady was in the bath tub) but it has it’s own history at The Stanley Hotel as well; apparently a maid almost died in this room lighting a gas lantern in the early days of the hotel - it exploded, she survived the explosion but when she died several years later…apparently she never left the hotel and is often seen in this room along w/ making her presence known in many other ways

     

    2 orbs circled 2nd flr back hallway Stanley 10-06

    another 2nd floor hallway – 2 orbs in this pic (again I circled them for you)

     

    4th flr stairwell 1 orb circled Stanley 10-06

    4th floor back stairwell – 1 orb in front of the door here

     

    Pet cemetary II 10-06

    here’s a pic of the pet cemetery outside of the hotel; this is where employees used to bury their pets back in the early 1900′s…gee, I wonder where Stephen King got the idea for a pet cemetery as a book? hmmmm….whistling

     

    Okay…on to the pics from the horseback ride on Sunday morning!!  It was pretty chilly outside that morning and drizzling rain on and off for most of the day.  BUT, we ventured onward and went on our horseback tour anyway and had a blast!!

    Jason horseback I 10-8-06

    Jason on his horse “Izzy” the exact replica of my horse “Lizzy”…they’re sisters

     

    horseback tour 10-8-06

    some of the other riders as we’re heading up the trail

     

    Jason horseback II 10-8-06

    Jason and Izzy slowly making their way up the hill – this horse was the epitome of SLOW and she had more gas than any other horse I’ve ever known!!!  Yup…she was perfect for Jason! giggle

     

    Elk - horseback tour 10-8-06

    these Elk were just lying around when we trotted by

     

    Estes Park - horsback tour 10-8-06

    a view of Estes Park from the trail we were riding on

    BTW…do you know how difficult it can be to take photos while riding a horse through the mountains?? whew

     

    As you can see we had a great time up in Estes Park this last weekend!!  We’ve even decided that next time we go we’re going to stay at The Stanley Hotel!! I’m picking the room! laugh

    rose

  • So much to say…so little time

    Hello everyone!

    Once again I apologize for my lack of posting over the past month.  I’ve been SUPER busy w/ trying to hold down the homestead and looking for a new job.  I’m still looking for a new job…BUT I have decided what I want to be when I grow up. LOL

    I’ve decided to go back to school and get certified as a Phlebotomist.  Yup…I’m going to be a real life vampire…well, so to speak.  I’ve always been intrigued w/ the medical field and I feel that it would be a good placement for me.  However, I don’t have the funds nor the patience to go through all of the schooling that it takes to become a physician or a nurse…at least not right now.  I figure that by going into Phlebotomy that I can at least get my foot in the door and get my feet wet in the field that I’ve always wanted to work in.  Then if I decide to continue my education and pursue something more in depth in the medical field I can.

    Anyway…things are going OK for me health wise.  I’ve been dealing w/ infections lately…not related to the wls at all.  First it was a sinus infection…a bad one that I had to be put on Augmentin to get rid of…unfortunately the Augmentin gave me yet another infection…a yeast infection. YUCK!  So yeah…lovely right? NOT.

    Jason and I are celebrating our 3rd year wedding anniversary this Sunday.  So being the ever adventurous person that I am…I decided that we needed to out of town for the event.  Jason chose Estes Park since he hasn’t been there as of yet and wants to see Rocky Mountain Nat’l Park.  So I decided to make it an eventful trip!  We’re going here:

    This is the Stanley Hotel…where Stephen King wrote the infamous story “The Shining”.  I told Jason that we MUST take the Ghost Tour at this hotel!  I’ve stayed here before…but we’re not going to this time for it’s a bit out of budget right now.  The last time I was here I had quite a few encounters w/ those of the spiritual persuasion.  It was great!  So I’m hoping that Jason will be able to experience some of that as well.

    Sunday morning we’ll be taking a horseback tour through RMNP.  I haven’t been horseback riding in over 10 years or so!  I’m SO excited!!  Of course I’ve had to lose over 52lbs before I could do so again! LOL

    Yup…that’s right…I’m down 52 lbs as of today.  It’s strange but true…

    Anyway…I hope you all are well and hopefully I will come back from Estes Park w/ lots of pics to show you all!  But for now…I’ll leave you w/ these…taken this last weekend of my beautiful daughter Dora & her boyfriend for Homecoming:

    Homecoming 005Homecoming 013Homecoming 012

    rose