Month: April 2007

  • I got a new job!!!

    So…I’ve been looking for a new position for about a month now because even though I don’t mind working at HL, they just don’t pay very much and it’s become an issue.  That and I’m just sick of retail!!  Being back behind a register again over the past 6 months has had it’s good moments…but it has also reminded why I quit retail to begin with many years ago.  I must say as well that cashiering is not the issue itself, but at HL the fact is that the equipment that we use is just SO DAMN OLD (we’re talking era 1969 here) that it’s frustrating and to be frank…tiresome to say the least.  Customers complain daily about the long lines and the amount of paperwork that is required to do returns and such.  They are just not with the times on many things and the cashiers take all of the heat for the lack of technology.  Plus, the cashiers are expected to do a LOT for the $7/hr that they make…and I mean a LOT.  I’m not trying to slam HL by any means.  The people that I’ve worked with there have all been very nice to me and I like them all a great deal.  I’m just personally ready to move on…that’s all.

    Anyway, I had applied for a Safety Assistant position recently and last week I got a call back asking me to come in for an interview on Friday.  I went in early that morning and spoke with the Safety Director and his assistant.  They seemed very nice and their office is located just one exit away from the school that Jason is currently teaching at.   The interview went pretty well I thought and I’d told Jason that I’d be shocked if I wasn’t offered the position.  The Safety Director (my new boss) told me that he would make a decision sometime this week.  I didn’t expect a call back until Wednesday or Thursday to be honest, but I got the call this morning offering me the position. It won’t pay anywhere near what I was making at my last safety position, BUT it’s a hell of a lot more than what I’ve been making as a cashier.

    The other great part is that it is also a part-time position.  Working part-time has been a great thing for me after working 40-50 hours a week and not being appreciated for any of it.  I’ve certainly enjoyed the extra time that I’ve had with my kids during the past 9 months since I was let go.  Anyway, this new position is 25 hours a week/5 days a week.  I will be working 9am to 2-3pm depending on whether or not I take a lunch and how long of a lunch I take.  I will leave after the kids get on the bus in the morning and will be home before they get off the bus in the afternoon.   Isn’t that great!?

    I gave my notice today at work…my manager was pretty upset about it as he was wanting me to take over a department for him.  I feel bad that the timing on this is poor but I need to do what is best for me and my family and I feel that taking this new position is what’s best.   That’s what I told my manager today and I apologized to him about the timing, but I am giving almost two weeks notice as my last day will be the 21st (Sat.). 

    So I start my new job on Monday the 23rd at 9am.  I have to go take a pre-employment drug test and such before then (most likely tomorrow or Thursday as I have those days off this week).  It will be good to be back in an office environment again.  Now I just have to go shopping for some appropriate attire as I have nothing to wear!! :-O

  • Are you ready….

    …for yet another update??

    Thanks for all of your support and comments.   I’m feeling much better as of late.

    Here’s some new pics of me:

    Maria & Caleb

    me & my wonderful son Caleb

    Maria 002

    current weight: 188lbs – 125lbs lost