Month: October 2007

  • Interviews

    This last week was a very hectic and busy week.  I knew it would be because I had Parent/Teacher Conferences to attend, but on top of that I had 3 interviews in 3 days right in a row!  Yes, good news…but it certainly made for a few late days.

    My first interview was with a local high-end automotive dealership that needs an HR Assistant for their region.  I was contacted the next day to set up a 2nd interview for this position, which I will attend Monday afternoon.  It’s not a bad position at all, but the benefits aren’t worth much to speak of.  The best part about this position is the location of the dealership…it’s only about a mile or so from my house.

    The next interview was with a nationwide car rental company to which I had to travel over 30miles one-way just to interview for.  This position is an administrative position at a local branch (closer than the corporate office).  However, when I arrived for my interview I was greeted by the HR Manager telling me that I would “have to wait a while” because she was “in the middle of a job fair”.  I looked at her and asked her why then did she schedule an interview with me for this time…to which she replied, “I didn’t”.  WTF?  I looked at her and said, “I’m sorry, but yes, you did.  You called me 2 days ago and specifically asked me to be here on this day at this time.”  She then said, “oh, well if I did I shouldn’t have because like I said, I’m in the middle of a job fair and you’re going to have to wait a while.” 

    I was NOT impressed by this at all!   I waited for over 30 minutes (and would’ve only waited 15 more before leaving) before the General Mgr finally went into the HR Manager’s office and INSTRUCTED her to interview me right then after making me wait so long.  Needless to say, once I got into her office and she informed me that this position was only $10/hr and gave me the rest of the job description, I knew in that moment that this was a huge waste of time.  I was so overqualified for this position it wasn’t even funny!   So I thanked her for the opportunity to interview, wished her luck on finding the right candidate and proceeded to walk out of the building.

    On my way home from that interview I rec’d a phone call from the Fleet Mgr for another company that I’d sent a resume into about 3 hrs prior.  I’d actually inquired about the HR Assist. position with this company, but once the HR Dept. noticed all of my DOT Compliance qualifications, they immediately gave my resume to Fleet.  Anyway, after speaking with the Feet Mgr and hearing him explain that he is in need for an assistant and asking if I’d be interested, he scheduled an interview for me for the next afternoon.   I went yesterday and spoke with him for over an hour.  He seems like a very nice man and has only been with the company for a few months himself.   The company is the product of 2 other companies that merged last year…so it’s still going through “growing pains” and developmental stages.  I’ve been in that position before when I worked for GSW and they were still a small company.

    Anyway, he said that he’d let me know sometime this next week, but he also stated that I seem like the type of person who, when given a mission, does whatever is necessary to get it done.  Yup…that’s me alright.  He also stated that he can tell that I know what I’m doing and that I don’t need a great deal of directions. Yeah, I can take care of things on my own. LOL

    So…at least I have a few prospective options here and the latter of the 3 would be the best I think.  It is an hourly position, BUT it’s the highest paying of the 3 and is still very close to home (6 miles) and it’s what I know best.  I think it would be fun to start this dept from scratch and build it up to where it should be.   I like doing that because then I can do it the right way the first time and not have to redo someone else’s idea of what it should’ve been.

    Ok…I’m done ranting for now.  I’ll let you know how things turn out!

  • Hello??  Is anyone still looking at this site??  I wouldn’t blame you if you weren’t considering I haven’t exactly been consistant in updating it this year.  Sorry about that.  I’ve been BEYOND busy…not a good excuse eh?  I mean, we’re all busy right?  Yeah, I figured that you’d agree w/ that.  Regardless, I thought that those who do still check in here might like an update on what’s been going on since my last update. 

    Let’s see here…my last update was in July right after we’d arrived home from our trip to Dallas…yup, the trip that I was deeply upset about.  Yeah, it’s all coming back to me now.  Well since then Eric (my bff) and I made up and all is is well there I’m happy to report.  Oh he still knows that he royally screwed up while I was there and believe me, I won’t let him forget that!  Nope…I wouldn’t be a woman if I did! HA!

    I’m still searching for a full-time position.  It hasn’t been easy to find ones that I’m really interested in as of late.  I’ve also had to swallow my pride and do something that I’ve been needing to take care of for about 15 years now…finish high school.  Yup, I’m happy to announce that I’m now a high school graduate.  No…not a GED…but an actual diploma!  Yeah, I’m pretty proud of that!  I told myself that I needed to graduate before my daughter…and so I finally took care of it!   Jason is very proud of me for getting it done…and he was right, I feel much better now.  I’m sure that it will help in finding a new job as well.  I’m mostly looking forward to going back to school now though.  I’m going to enroll in classes at Arapahoe Community College to get my phlebotomy certification! 

    Oh…would you like to see what I look like now??  You would?!  Ok…well I’ll give you a few comparison shots.

    Maria 3-2006 Maria 002 Maria 012

              me @ over 300lbs – March 2006                  me in April 2007           me in July 2007 – 1 yr out

    I have one more pic that I’m going to show you…but you’ll have to wait until I get a chance to scan it.  I know…the anticipation is killing you eh? LOL…yeah, I thought so.

    Jason & I celebrated our 4th wedding anniversary this last Monday.  In celebration of that we went to Manitou Springs and took the “lantern tour” through The Cave of The Winds.  It was so cool!  What a blast!  It was something that I could never have done a year or so ago.  I feel a sense of accomplishment in doing this!  Jason & I had our photo taken in the cave and I will post it for you soon…I promise.   It’s really a nice photo!

    Besides, the photo from July doesn’t do me justice b/c I’ve lost a good 10lbs since then!   Yup…I’ve now lost 150lbs from my highest weight!!

    Outside of all of that…the kids are all doing well.  Dora is a sophomore in high school and is on the Honor Roll! We are very proud of her b/c she has come a LONG way from just a couple of years ago.  Corin is in 4th grade this year and doing as expected…very well.   Caleb & Jonah are in 3rd grade this year and are both doing just fine.  Jonah seems to be doing much better academically than years past…but is still working on his behavioral issues (he has a hard time w/ personal boundaries).  Caleb is progressing very well and seems to be enjoying school very much…as he always has.

    Jason is in his second year of teaching.  This year he is teaching just social studies (U.S. History & Geography) which means that he’s teaching both 7th & 8th grades. I don’t know how he does it!  It was enough to go through that age w/ Dora…I can’t imagine having over 100 of them a day!   He still struggles from time to time, but I try to help him as much as I can.  I grade and enter grades into the parent portal for him when I can.  However, it’s not always easy for me to do b/c I basically work 3 jobs.  I mean, I’m only paid for one…but outside of my JOB I have the kids to take care of and help him grade…so I don’t get much time to myself at all.  Can you say tired?? Uh yeah…just a LOT!

    Well…that’s basically the update for now.  I’ll try to post more often and I’ll do my best to get the new pic posted soon.   Hope you are all well!