Month: March 2008

  • Thinking Pink & Brown…

    My new job is not a boring one by ANY stretch of the imagination that’s for sure.  I got slammed this morning with orders of manuals and packets for collegian chapters.  Since I’m not familiar with all of these documents as of yet, it was a bit overwhelming…but I think I handled it well.  At least that’s what I’ve been told.

    However, I’m still getting used to the work environment here as it is a far cry from the construction environment that I’m accustomed to.  Working for a non-profit organization has it’s advantages…at least this one does.  I’ve never worked for one prior to this so I can’t speak on the behalf of other organizations, but this one…well, so far I’m impressed. 

    Everyone at this organization has welcomed me w/ open arms, again…very different environment for me.  I work with mostly women (hello…sorority right?), but there isn’t the normal cattiness and backstabbing issues that usually come with that aspect.  Again, I think this is due to it being non-profit and not a part of “corporate america”.  The normal day-to-day tension that is usually found in an office is not present here.   Not to say that people don’t get frustrated with one another, no…that still occurs, but not to the extent that it would in a corporate office.

    People thank me all the time for my help even when it’s the smallest thing or just part of my job.  It’s nice to hear that though.  They also tell me all the time how wonderful it is that I’m here and how good it is to have my expertise.  Again, a breathe of fresh air compared to what I’m used to. 

    I think the best part of it all is that there are “real people” working here.  People that have personalities and a sense of humor…not mindless robots performing “the job”.  You can actually interact with people and not have to worry so much about office politics.

    They have a lot of meetings here…which some people would mind, but I don’t b/c it just shows that communication is important to them.  I respect that…so I welcome the meetings.  In fact, I have a department meeting that I need to attend here in a moment.  We have one of these weekly and then a staff meeting once a month.  The one thing that surprised me about the staff meeting was that at the end they open the floor to everyone for announcements and recognitions.  I was amazed at how many times different people said that they wanted to thank me…although I certainly didn’t mind them stating that in front of the Exec. Director.   Props to me!

    Ok…back to work for me…hope this post finds you doing well.

  • I can’t believe it!

     My boys turn 9 years old today!! WOW…it’s hard to believe that they are 9.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY Caleb & Jonah!!

    bdaycake

  • Can you imagine?

    Unfortunately I didn’t get the job over at the Reunions company.  However, I did get a job offer last week and am now working for a sorority!! Can you imagine?  Me working for a sorority?? Yup…it’s true I tell you.

    I’ve accepted a position with Gamma Phi Beta as the Operations Assistant for their headquarters here in Centennial, CO.  The best part is that they are located only 6.5 miles from my home!  My commute is a whole 10 minutes!!   Very cool.

    It’s a salaried position that puts me in charge of shipping/receiving, overseeing maintenance for the building/grounds, processing/distributing mail, printing/distribution of manuals, liasson for the 168 chapters across the U.S.   It’s a LOT of information to process let me tell you!  I started yesterday and already I’ve been completely overwhelmed with paperwork and information.  The people here are VERY nice though and have great personalities.

    I never in my wildest dreams imagined myself working for a sorority or with a bunch of women, but I am and so far I’m enjoying it immensely.

    The benefits package is wonderful for this position as well.  I started accruing time towards vacation (12 days/yr) and PTOs (personal time off – 12 days/yr) on my start date (combined total of 24 days/yr).  I can’t begin using any of it until I’ve been here 90 days, but the fact that will have already accrued some time by that point is awesome.   They also pay a portion toward each employee’s medical insurance every month…very cool.    I will also get all major holidays off along w/ a week at Christmas each year!

    I think that I definitely picked the right position to accept.  I must say that I truly enjoy my short commute so far…and am looking forward to using some of my vacation/PTO in this upcoming year!