July 15, 2009

  • Thank God for small favors…

    After a great deal of poking and prodding, one of my closest and dearest friends is coming to visit today!   It’s taken me YEARS (literally) to talk him in to visiting me for a change instead of me visiting him (hence the subject line).  

    His timing is very good actually, I NEED the distraction in the worst way right now!  For those of you who’ve read my last couple of posts, I’m sure you can understand as to why.  I finally broke down last night for the first time since being told that my organs are fused together and that I’d need to have the upcoming surgery.  It’s been almost a month since I was given that news and yet, it just now really hit me.  I knew it would eventually, but it still came as a shock that I’m scared.  I’m not one who gets scared easily, I’d like to think that I’m a pretty strong person…but even I must admit that the thought of being under in the O.R. for 6-10 hours while a team of surgeons attempt to separate my organs, frightens me.

    I have my pre-op appointment tomorrow afternoon and the hospital pre-registered me earlier this week.  Maybe this is why it’s finally all catching up with me?  Maybe.  Either way, it’s overwhelming to focus on right now.  I’ve so much to do in preparation for this surgery, not only at home but at work as well.  Can you say stress? Yeah, I’m sure that’s not what I SHOULD be doing right now.

    So, for the next few days while my friend is here, I’m going to try my best to not think about it all and enjoy my time with him and live in the moment for a change.   That’s the plan anyway.

Comments (5)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *